Guide to Laws about Harassment in San Francisco
If someone is seriously harassing or threatening to harm you, call 9-1-1. Also see our Victims Rights guide for more.
Most laws regarding harassment are made at the state level. See our Guide to Laws about Harassment in California.
Is it illegal to aggressively pursue or communicate with someone in San Francisco?
Yes it is illegal to engage in “aggressive pursuit” of another, which means “the wilful, malicious or repeated following or harassment of another person, including, but not limited to, wilful or malicious communications by telephone, modem, facsimile or mail with the intent to cause annoyance, intimidation or fear on the part of the person being pursued.” 1SF Police Code Sec 122
Violations of this law could result in a fine of up to $1000 and/or 6 months in county jail.
Exercise Your Rights
In general, if you feel your safety or the safety of others is being immediately threatened, call 911. Otherwise, you can do the following:
- If you are a victim of stalking or cyberstalking, you can report it to your local police or to the Department of Justice. Or you can talk to a personal injury lawyer (even if you have not been physically harmed).
- If you are a victim of harassment at work, you can file a claim with the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing, or talk to a lawyer about it. It may also be a crime, and if so, you can report it to law enforcement.
- Make sure you know your Victims’ Bill of Rights
Laws related to Streets, Parks, and Public Spaces
See all Legal Guides
|↑1||SF Police Code Sec 122|