Guide to the Law for Employees in the San Francisco Bay area
Most laws related to employment are made at the state and federal level. See our Guide to Employment Laws in California, and our Guide to Employment Laws in the U.S.
What is the minimum wage in the San Francisco area?
The minimum wage in California is currently $12/hr for employers with 26 employees or more, and $11/hr for employers with 25 employees or fewer1Cal Labor Code Sec 1182.12, and will go to $15/hr by 2023.
However, in several bay area cities, the minimum wage is higher:
San Francisco: $15.59, adjusted annually for inflation
San Jose: $15 with annual cost of living increases
El Cerrito: $15
Los Altos: $15
Mountain View: $15.65
Oakland: $13.80 adjusted annually for inflation
Palo Alto: $13.50 adjusted annually for inflation
Richmond: $15 (without benefits), $13.50 (with benefits)
Santa Clara: $15 and will increase annually based on the Consumer Price Index
San Mateo: $13.50
Alameda: $13.50 (for employers with more than 25 employees), $11 (for employers with 25 or fewer employees)
Fremont: $13.50 (for employers with more than 25 employees), $11 (for employers with 25 or fewer employees)
San Leandro: $14
Hayward: Starting July 1, 2020: $15 (for employers with more than 25 employees), $14 (for employers with 25 or fewer employees)
Exercise Your Rights
We highly encourage you to find a local employment lawyer. Many employment lawyers offer free consultations, and many even agree to be paid solely as a percent of your case payout; so don’t hesitate to give them a call!
|↑1||Cal Labor Code Sec 1182.12|