Municipal Codes – San Francisco Bay area

What are my Local Laws? (San Francisco Bay area)

City and county governments make “local laws” (called “ordinances” or “municipal laws”) on a variety of issues such as parking, rent control, noise restrictions, and more. These are in addition to state and federal laws. For more on this, see Where do Laws Come From? on our Law Basics page.

If you live in a incorporated city (“municipality”), your local laws are mostly created by the city. But if you live in an unincorporated area, you are subject to your county code. See more about this at What City am I in?

Law Soup SF provides information on some of the most important laws in some select cities (particularly the city of San Francisco). But we can’t possibly cover every law in all cities and unincorporated areas of the 9 county Bay area!

Below are select “municipal codes” (aka “code of ordinances”), which is the collection of laws passed by your city council that are currently in force. For example, the San Francisco Codes contains the currently effective laws passed by the San Francisco Board of Supervisors.

How do I know what city I am in?

Check out our page “What City am I in?” for more

Municipal Codes – cities:

San Francisco

San Jose



Santa Rosa

Mountain View


Palo Alto

Daly City

Municipal Codes – unincorporated areas:

Santa Clara County

Alameda County

Contra Costa County

San Mateo County

Sonoma County

Solano County

Marin County

Napa County

Share the Legal Info With Your Friends: